SSL Certificate
St. Francis Area Schools
A PreK-12 public school district serving the communities of Athens Township, Andover, Bethel, East Bethel, Linwood Township, Nowthen, Oak Grove, St. Francis and Stanford Township

Section 504

Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive Federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education (ED). Section 504 provides: "No otherwise qualified individual with a disability in the United States . . . shall, solely by reason of her or his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance…" (1)

Section 504 regulations require a school district to provide a "free appropriate public education" (FAPE) to each qualified student with a disability who is in the school district's jurisdiction, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability. Under Section 504, FAPE consists of the provision of regular or special education and related aids and services designed to meet the student's individual educational needs as adequately as the needs of nondisabled students are met. (1)

Independent School District 15 (ISD 15) is committed to identifying and serving all students that qualify for the provisions available under section 504. Below are documents outlining 504 procedures specific to ISD 15. Additional resources for parents and students are also included below. (1)

Source (1): US Department of Education

Section 504 Important Forms & Resources

School Contact Information

Lifelong Learning Center
Jennifer Dupre
Phone: 763-753-7196
Email: jennifer.dupre@isd15.org

Cedar Creek Community School
Kara Lofgren
Phone: 763-213-8843
Email: kara.lofgren@isd15.org

East Bethel Community School
Katherine Arnold
Phone: 763-213-8919
Email: katherine.arnold@isd15.org

St. Francis Elementary School
Scott Kruger
Phone: 763-213-8758
Email: scott.kruger@isd15.org

St. Francis Middle School
Alysa Sworsky
Phone: 763-213-8619
Email: alysa.sworsky@isd15.org

St. Francis High School
Tammy Sworsky
Phone: 763-213-1571
Email: tammy.sworsky@isd15.org

Crossroads School & Vocational Center
Sarah Perry
Phone: 763-753-7143
Email: sarah.perry@isd15.org

Saints Academy, Saints Online, Guided Studies
Erica Campbell
Phone: 763-753-7148
Email: erica.campbell@isd15.org

ISD 15 Districtwide 504 Supervisor
Sonni Buerskin, Supervisor of Special Services
Phone: 763-753-7013
Email: sonni.buerskin@isd15.org

ISD 15 Districtwide 504 Coordinator
Tim Finn, Director of Special Services
Phone: 763-753-7046
Email: tim.finn@isd15.org

Additional Section 504 Resources

United States Department of Education: Protecting Students with Disabilities

United States Department of Education: Disability Discrimination

PACER Center: Students with Disabilities and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Minnesota Department of Education: Section 504 Plans

A Parent’s Guide to Section 504 in Public Schools

ISD 15 Policy 421: Student Disability Nondiscrimination Policy


powered by finalsite